A Relic of the Past
The DM will record anything that deviates from the published rules here.
- Ranger: Use the Revised version from Unearthed Arcana.
- Heavy Armor Master: If your heavy armor is magical, the damage reduction applies to magical weapon damage also.
- Lucky: Renamed to “Fortunate” so it doesn’t have the same name as the Halfling racial feature.
Variant: More Difficult Identification (DMG p.136)
You cannot identify the properties of a magic item by simply focusing on it during a short rest. You must use the identify spell or experiment with the item.
Optional Rule: Flanking (custom rule, playtesting)
This is not the Flanking optional rule given on DMG p.251. It uses the same rules for determining when a creature is flanking. However, flanking bestows no automatic benefit. Instead, a creature who is flanking can perform the Help action as a bonus action to grant the other flanking ally advantage on its next single melee attack against the flanked enemy. The advantage is lost if either ally ceases to flank the target before the attack is made.
This way, tactical movement is rewarded without screwing over the Rogue. The Rogue gets advantage effortlessly and immediately, and it applies to all attacks. For everyone else, they have to be on the right square, their ally has to spend a bonus action (meaning there’s a delay between moving into position and gaining advantage on an attack), and it only applies to a single attack.
The wording makes it sound fiddly, but I believe it will be simple in practice. You move to a flanking position opposite an engaged ally, spend a bonus action, and your ally makes their next attack with advantage if they’re still flanking when their turn comes up. And probably they spend their bonus action to grant you the same benefit. I like that it leverages the somewhat underutilized Help action. (I suspect this rule could even work in Theater of the Mind where positioning is largely ignored.)
Now, suppose you are flanking a target and have been granted advantage by an ally. If the target moves and provokes an Opportunity Attack from you, is your attack roll made with advantage? Well, it depends when they leave your reach. If they leave your reach and the flanked position simultaneously, then yes.
However, if they move out of flanking but stay within reach, you lose advantage at that point of their movement. If they then continue the movement out of your reach and provoke an Opportunity Attack, then it’s not made with advantage. So that could get fiddly. We’ll see.
Optional Rule: Diagonals (DMG p.252)
Each square of diagonal movement costs alternately 5 and 10 feet of movement. Diagonal movement on difficult terrain (half speed) costs 15 feet of movement.
- Without DM approval, you’re allowed to modify your character in any way that would not have reduced the chances of success of an established prior event. For example, if you have a 12 in one ability and a 13 in another (both yield a +1 modifier), it’s fine to swap them right before you bump that 13 up to a 14 (+2). Similarly, if you chose to be proficient with a skill or know a language but have never used it, you can drop it and pick up a different one that would’ve been available to you at the time you gained the skill proficiency or language.
- If you’d like to make changes that would have impacted prior events or you aren’t sure, talk to the DM.